Photo: visitors’ book.

Reviews

Here are some recent comments from guests.

I just want to say thank you on behalf of myself and my party of 15 people for our stay at Morland House over this last weekend. We have all had a thoroughly enjoyable time. Everything about the house and its gardens is fabulous, particularly its charming character and interesting history, and the fact that there is a grocery shop, a cafe and a pub located at the end of the driveway simply adds to the perfection of the place. We are already planning to stay at Morland House again (perhaps next spring) and will also be recommending it to friends.

Craig, Penrith, June 2018

Thank you for a wonderful weekend. Morland House was the perfect venue for our family celebrations and was the first time all nineteen of us had managed to get together, creating some lovely memories. Jane had done a wonderful job preparing the house for us and we were most grateful for your recommendation of Judith who catered for us so well. We definitely hope to return.

Paula, Glasgow, May 2018

What a fantastic weekend we’ve had in your lovely home. And what a massive amount of work you’ve done in making it all so welcoming. We couldn’t have been more chuffed , especially with the reaction of or our friends and family as they arrived and explored the house and grounds. Absolutely perfect for Helen’s 50th and the great time we all had will live long in the memory. Thank you…

Michael, Derby, March 2018

Just wanted to drop you a quick line to thank you so much for the use of your beautiful house. The weekend was truly amazing and the house so comfortable and filled with the most interesting items. Thank you once again. I am sure we will be booking again quite soon.

Nicola, Stafford, September 2017

We all had the most wonderful time and I had taken a little risk as there were a number of people who didn’t know each other – but everyone got along famously from the very point of arrival. Your home was so beautiful and full of so many interesting things, we all loved having a look at all the paintings and fascinating things on the walls. Everybody said they felt so at home as although the house was very beautiful and large, it equally felt very cosy and homely. I also wanted to say that we thought Jane was great and also to thank you for recommending Judith as our dinner on Saturday was lovely.

Louise, Essex, May 2017

I would just like to say how very much we enjoyed our stay in Morland House this past week. We especially found the beds very comfortable and made a note of the make of mattress. The surrounding gardens and grounds are beautiful and we were fortunate to have good weather to be able to enjoy these. We would strongly recommend Morland House.

Glenda, Sussex, April 2017

We had an absolutely marvelous time! Morland House is a treasure, it was a privilege to spend a week there and my mother had a brilliant birthday celebration.

Susan, California, April 2017

We had a fantastic weekend at Morland House and thank you so much for allowing visitors to stay in such a special place. We feel very privileged. It was lovely to be able to gather all our family together under one roof, it’s not easy these days as the family just seems to be growing! Morland House accommodated us perfectly, so much space and so comfortable.

Kath, Cambridge, March 2017

We had an absolutely wonderful stay at Morland House – a huge thank you to you and all your family for letting us stay and to you and your housekeeping team for providing such clean and well-equipped accommodation. As you know, this was a very special occasion for us and we were so happy to be able to celebrate in style in such a unique setting. Our formal dinner served in the dining room was a real highlight that we will all remember for a long time to come (brilliantly catered by Robert and Sarah Kite) and we were spoilt for choice in terms of daytime activities as the House is so well-situated for Lakes, Dales and beautiful local countryside. The only problem is that even our 4 day stay was not quite long enough to see all that the house and surroundings had to offer so I think another visit before too long will be a must if you will have us!

Gail, Leicestershire, October 2016

We were absolutely delighted with the house, which is really a very special place in so many ways. And the surrounding area makes for a relaxing holiday no matter what the weather (which was, anyway, very kind to us).

Andrew and Joy, Edinburgh, August 2016

Just wanted to say thanks. Your house was amazing and a great setting for our weekend celebration. We all had a really good time.

Jon, Bournemouth, June 2016

We had a fantastic time. It is an amazing house. Could easily have spent a week, not a weekend. Nobody in my party wanted to leave. We had a fantastic meal in the dining room cooked by the Kites, followed by lots of wine and a pub quiz in the drawing room on the Saturday. On the Sunday we all had a fantastic breakfast in the kitchen, explored the grounds and did a walk round the village up a hill and back through some woods. We ordered a Chinese takeaway so we could all enjoy the dining room again and we played cards. The house was filled with laughter the entire time. Brilliant weekend had by us all. I’m sure you haven’t seen the last of us and we have all just been recommending it to everyone since, and are still talking about it now!

Sue, Preston, May 2016

We had a wonderful family get-together at Morland House. It was a joy to soak up the history of the place. We dined in your great dining room every evening (our main reason for choosing Morland) and played games long into each night. We explored the grounds and the gorgeous church, enjoyed beer from the brewery and brunch at the cafe. We also ventured further afield to climb Catbells and visit Brougham Castle. A great time was had by all.

Yolanda, Ayr, April 2016

Thank you for such a fantastic venue for the weekend. It’s been amazing and everyone was very impressed with the house. I’d also like to thank you for recommending Judith to me, the catering for the weekend has been brilliant. All in all it’s been a big success so thanks again.

Caroline, Carlisle, April 2016

On behalf of my extended family may I thank you for a wonderful Easter weekend stay at your beautiful house. Everyone was simply blown away by the experience.

Den, London, March 2016

We all had a wonderful time. Plenty of showers and baths between us all. We have been to many properties providing group accommodation in the last 15 years, and all agree this is the best.

Debbie, Edinburgh, March 2016

Thank you so much for a fantastic weekend in your AMAZING house. It was more than adequate to accommodate all the various needs of six families. Particular highlights were the gardens, exploring the house (and the fabulous collection of books!), eating together in the dining room after the bairns were in bed, and toasting ourselves in front of the gorgeous fire in the drawing room. We’ll definitely be back!

Jo, York, October 2015

What an amazing time we’ve had in your very special house - just perfect for our party’s needs. We had great fun playing hide and seek - endless places to hide. Warm and cosy at night - lovely roaring fires. Kids and grown-ups loved exploring the gardens. We had a fabulous time and I hope we have the opportunity to stay in your wonderful house again. We have told all our friends and family about it already.

Laura, Yorkshire, October 2015

We had a fantastic time and had lots of fun. Morland House easily accommodated our party of 18. The beautiful extensive grounds and games room kept all age groups entertained. We have already been recommending it to others and we all agree that we want to return.

Amanda, Somerset, August 2015

We were lucky enough to rent Morland House for my wedding guests in May 2015 – it really is a completely special, wonderful location. With room for 16 adults, there was enough space for all our close family and friends – everyone was delighted with their gorgeous, characterful bedrooms, spotless bathrooms and ‘ridiculously comfy’ beds! The house is huge, a treasure trove of history, carefully restored and full of fascinating paintings and artefacts. We loved the huge, well-equipped kitchen (ideal for a big, relaxed meal the day after the wedding) and the beautiful sitting room – you could easily imagine the characters from Pride and Prejudice singing around the piano! It was a really welcoming space too – despite the grand surroundings, we felt completely at home. Special mention must go to the garden too – we played rounders, paddled in the stream and enjoyed the absolute peacefulness. A perfect weekend, following a perfect wedding. Thank you again Freddy, I hope that one day we’ll be back.

Sarah, Yorkshire, May 2015

Reviews on Trip Advisor

See more reviews on Trip Advisor.